The Black Swan

What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? And, what can Catherine the Great's lovers tell us about probability? This book shows us how to stop trying to predict everything and take advantage of uncertainty.

What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great's lovers tell us about probability? And, why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they're impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. A rallying cry to ignore the 'experts', The Black Swan shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertainty.

Review:

Great fun ... brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling -- Stephen J. Dubner, Author Of Freakonomics An idiosyncratically brilliant new book -- Niall Ferguson Sunday Telegraph A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected -- Larry Elliot Guardian Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling -- John Kay Financial Times Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot -- John Cornwell Sunday Times In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point Time
Author:
Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Format:
Paperback

Average customer rating:

  (view reviews)

Delivery time :
Country of origin: South Africa Dispatched within 7 working days depending on supplier
Ships from :
kalahari.com

Now:
R162
eBucks:
eB1 620
Discovery Miles:
1 620

Description

What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? And, what can Catherine the Great's lovers tell us about probability? This book shows us how to stop trying to predict everything and take advantage of uncertainty.

What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great's lovers tell us about probability? And, why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they're impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. A rallying cry to ignore the 'experts', The Black Swan shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertainty.

Review:

Great fun ... brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling -- Stephen J. Dubner, Author Of Freakonomics An idiosyncratically brilliant new book -- Niall Ferguson Sunday Telegraph A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected -- Larry Elliot Guardian Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling -- John Kay Financial Times Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot -- John Cornwell Sunday Times In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point Time

Product details

Author:
Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Subtitle:
The Impact of the Highly Improbable
Publisher:
Limited (UK) Penguin Books
ISBN:
9780141034591
Audience:
General
Pages:
444
Width (mm):
127
Length (mm):
196
Additional Info:
Nassim Nicholas Taleb spends most of his time as a flaneur, meditating in cafes across the planet. A former trader, he is currently Distinguished Professor of Risk Engineering at New York University. His books Fooled by Randomness and The Black Swan have been published in thirty-one languages.
Weight (g):
340

Customer reviews

Rate or write a review for this product

Black Swan - Book

I think the book is really fantastic! An enjoyable read and I will be sure to order from Kalahari again:)

Your Recent History

Recently Viewed Items

 

Other products to consider